

## Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

March 29, 2019

## To: Interested Persons – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 19-04, Petition of the OLR Procedure Review Committee's Subcommittee on Referees for an order repealing and recreating SCR 21.08 and amending SCR 21.11(4), SCR 22.09(2), SCR 22.13(3), SCR 22.16(6), SCR 22.25(6)(c), SCR 22.30(1), SCR 22.34(10), and SCR 22.36(5). (Referee Appointment and Training)

Greetings:

In 2016, the Wisconsin Supreme Court established a committee to review Office of Lawyer Regulation (OLR) procedures and structure ("Committee"), and directed the Committee to report to the Court recommendations that would increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and fairness of the OLR process. The Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek was appointed as the Committee's chair. In October 2018, the Committee forwarded its final report to the Court. On March 13, 2019, nine administrative rule petitions were filed, proposing various changes to existing OLR rules and procedures. This letter pertains to one of those rule petitions.

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 19-04 filed March 13, 2019, by Judge Ptacek, Chair, on behalf of the Committee, and by Jacquelynn Rothstein, Chair of the Subcommittee on Referees. The petition asks the court to amend and create Supreme Court rules and modify the court's Internal Operating Procedures pertaining to appointment and training of referees.

You have received this letter because you have significant experience and expertise regarding the roles of referees in attorney disciplinary matters. You are invited to provide this court with feedback regarding the proposed changes to the rules pertaining to the appointment and training of referees. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm*.

At the closed rules conference on March 21, 2019, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing. The public hearing will be conducted on June 6, 2019. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.

- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by April 26, 2019 with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioners may file any response to the comments by May 10, 2019.

You might wish to consult the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley Justice Daniel Kelly Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet Judge Gerald P. Ptacek Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Chair, Referees Subcommittee Peggy Hurley, Court Operations

## List of Referees and Interested Counsel

Allan E. Beatty James C. Boll William Eich James R. Erickson Richard M. Esenberg John A. Fiorenza Dennis J. Flynn Jonathan V. Goodman Lisa C. Goldman Robert E. Kinney James W. Mohr Jr. John B. Murphy Kim M. Peterson J. N. Schweitzer James J. Winiarski

Ross A. Anderson, Husch Blackwell, LLP James E. Bartzen, Boardman & Clark LLP Nathaniel Cade, Cade Law LLC Richard J. Cayo, Halling & Cayo, S.C. Michael J. Chernin, Chernin Law Office Anthony Cotton, Kuchler and Cotton, S.C. Raymond M. Dall'osto, Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP Dean R. Dietrich, Dietrich Vanderwaal, S.C. Jeffery J. Drach, Drach Elder La Center LLC Peyton B. Engel, Hurley Burish, S.C. Saul C. Glazer, Axley Brynelson LLP Jama S. Graves, Carlson Koeck Kirk & Graves Ltd. Michael D. Guerin, Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP Chris L. Hartley, Hartley & Pecora LLC Jevon Jones Jaconi, Antiphon Law Offices Terry E. Johnson, Von Briesen & Roper Christina Katt, Wilson, Elser, Moskowitz, Edelman & Dicker, LLP James C. Koppelman, Schmitt & Koppelman, S.C. Donna J. Kuchler, Kuchler & Cotton Dean P. Laing, O'Neil, Cannon, Hollman, De Jong & Laing, S.C. Jeremy P. Levinson, Halling & Cayo, S.C. Kenneth J. Quincey, Quincey, Becker, Schuessler, Chase & Devitt, S.C. David C. Rashid, Law Office of David Rashid Stacie H. Rosenzweig, Halling & Cayo, S.C. Michael J. Short, Michael J. Short Law Office Michael F. Torphy, Law Office of Michael Torphy Monte Weiss, Weiss Law Office, S.C. Michael R. Younglove

\*\*\*\*\*

Additional Interested Persons Gerald P. Ptacek, Chair, OLR Procedure Review Committee Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Chair, Reinstatement and Referees Subcommittees Paul Schwarzenbart, Chair, Charging Process Subcommittee Marsha Mansfield, Chair, OLR Process Subcommittee