

## Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

November 1, 2018

## To: Interested Persons – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 18-04, In the Matter of the Petition to Amend Supreme Court Rule 10.03(4), Regarding Pro Hac Vice Admission for Nonresident Counsel Appearing in Matters Involving the Indian Child Welfare Act

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 18-04 filed July 17, 2018, by Attorneys Starlyn R. Tourtillott and Danica J. Zawieja, counsel for the Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin. The petition proposes amending Supreme Court Rule (SCR) 10.03(4) to exempt nonresident counsel who appear in matters involving the Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 U.S.C. § 1911 <u>et seq</u>. (ICWA), codified in Wisconsin as the Wisconsin Indian Child Welfare Act (WICWA), from the requirements of the pro hac vice admission rule.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm*.

At the closed rules conference on September 6, 2018, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing. The public hearing will be conducted on January 17, 2019. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by November 29, 2018, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioners may file any response to the comments by December 13, 2018.

You might wish to consult the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley Justice Daniel Kelly Justice Rebecca Dallet Attorney Starlyn R. Tourtillott Attorney Danica J. Zawieja

## List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Judges Deputy Director for Court Operations, Diane M. Fremgen Court Operations, Kat Carpenter Court Operations, Peggy Hurley Court Operations, Ann Olson Dean Dietrich, Attorney Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy K. Koschnick Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Andrew C. Cook Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: David Pifer, Executive Director Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Mike Gonring, Executive Director Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Christopher E. Rogers, President Steven Levine, Attorney University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jessica Butler Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Rose Oswalk Poels, CEO Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Theresa Russell Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cynthia Herber Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Jody J. Bartels Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: David Graves, Exec. Director Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr. Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Eugene White-Fish, President

## Additional Interested Persons:

Amanda L. WhiteEagle, Ho-Chunk Nation Department of Justice Nicole M. Homer, Ho-Chunk Nation Department of Justice W. Noah Lentz, Ho-Chunk Nation Department of Justice Sarah Stahelin, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe Kathryn E. Fort, Indian Law Clinic, Michigan State University Angelica Ramirez, St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin Shannon Holsey, Tribal President, Stockbridge-Munsee Community Georgette Hogan Boggio, Ft. Peck Tribes Brandelle Whitworth, Shoshone-Bannock Tribes