

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

January 17, 2018

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 18-01, Judicial Administrative Districts

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 18-01 filed January 9, 2018, by Judge Randy R. Koschnick, Director of State Courts. The petition proposes certain changes to the Wisconsin Statutes and Supreme Court Rules in order to eliminate the sixth judicial administrative district and redistribute the counties that presently constitute the sixth judicial administrative district. This will entail repealing sections Wis. Stat. §§ 753.06 (6) (title) and 757.60 (6), and Supreme Court Rule 70.17(6), amending Wis. Stat. §§ 13.525 (1) (e), 757.60 (3), (4), (5), (7), and (9), amending Supreme Court Rules 70.17(3), (4), (5), (7), and (9), and renumbering Wis. Stat. §§ 753.06 (3) (a), (5) (a), (6) (a) to (k), and (7) (a). This proposal is intended to reduce overall administrative costs and increase the efficiency of the judicial system. of the petition found the court's website Α copy be https://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

At the closed rules conference on January 16, 2018, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments. The court will decide whether to conduct a public hearing on this petition after reviewing the written comments it receives. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by February 9, 2018, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at https://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments by February 16, 2018.

You might wish to consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack

Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley

Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler

Justice Michael J. Gableman Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley

Justice Daniel Kelly

Judge Randy K. Koschnick, Director of State Courts

Diane M. Fremgen, Deputy Director for Court Operations

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Deputy Director for Court Operations, Diane Fremgen

Court Operations, Marcia Vandercook

Court Operations, Peggy Hurley

Court Operations, Ann Olson

Dean Dietrich, Attorney (Wausau)

Diane M. Fremgen, Acting Clerk of Supreme Court

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy K. Koschnick

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Legal Action of Wisconsin

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Mike Gonring, Executive Director

Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Paul G. Swanson, President

Steven Levine, Attorney

U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Rose Oswalk Poels, CEO

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Theresa Russell

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cain W. Oulahan

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Jody J. Bartels

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Jason Hanson

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Julie Kayartz

Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: David Graves, Exec. Director

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Eugene White-Fish, President

List of Additional Interested Persons

Holly Szablewski, DCA, District I Louis Moore, DCA, District II Michael Neimon, DCA, District III Jon Bellows, DCA, District IV Theresa Owens, DCA, District V Ronald Ledford, DCA, District VI Patrick Brummond, DCA, District VII Thomas Schappa, DCA, District VIII Susan Byrnes, DCA, District IX Donald Harper, DCA, District X