

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

March 7, 2018

To: Interested Persons – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 17-06, In repetition to amend SCR 81.02

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 17-06 filed May 25, 2017 by John A. Birdsall and Henry R. Schultz, on behalf of the Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the Wisconsin Association of Justice, and a number of individuals. The petition proposes amending Supreme Court Rule (SCR) 81.02, by increasing the hourly rate of compensation for court appointed lawyers from \$70 to \$100, indexing future compensation rates to annual cost of living increases, and specifying that the payment of an hourly rate less than the rate set forth in SCR 81.02 for legal services rendered pursuant to appointment by the State Public Defender under Wis. Stat. § 977.08 is unreasonable. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at https://wiccourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

At the open rules conference on June 21, 2017, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing. On January 19, 2018, the court sent a letter to the petitioners posing a number of questions. The petitioners' response to those questions is due March 16, 2018.

The petitioners requested this court schedule the public hearing in May 2018. Accordingly, the public hearing will be conducted on May 16, 2018. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (d) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by April 4, 2018, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment

guidelines at the court's website at https://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments by April 18, 2018.

If you are interested in appearing in person at the public hearing, please notify the Deputy Clerk for Rules by May 2, 2018, at *clerk@wicourts.gov* or 608-261-4302.

You might wish to consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Michael J. Gableman
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Daniel Kelly
John A. Birdsall, Esq.
Henry R. Schultz, Esq.

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Deputy Director for Court Operations, Diane M. Fremgen

Court Operations, Marcia Vandercook

Court Operations, Peggy Hurley

Dean Dietrich, Attorney

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy K. Koschnick

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Legal Action of Wisconsin

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Mike Gonring, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Paul G. Swanson, President

Steven Levine, Attorney

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Rose Oswalk Poels, CEO

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Theresa Russell

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cain W. Oulahan

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Jody J. Bartels

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Jason Hanson

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Julie Kayartz

Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: David Graves, Exec. Director

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Eugene White-Fish, President

Additional Interested Persons

Senate President, Roger Roth

Senate President Pro Tempore, Howard L. Marklein

Senate Majority Leader, Scott L. Fitzgerald

Senate Minority Leader, Jennifer Shilling

Assembly Speaker, Robin Vos

Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore, Tyler August

Assembly Majority Leader, Jim Steineke

Assembly Minority Leader, Peter Gordon Hintz

Senate Committee on Judiciary & Public Safety, Attention: Van H. Wanggaard, Chair Senate Committee on Judiciary & Public Safety, Attention: Patrick Testin, Vice-Chair

Assembly Committee on Judiciary, Attention: Jim Ott, Chair

Assembly Committee on Judiciary, Attention: Cody Horlacher, Vice-Chair

Senator Lena C. Taylor

Senator Robert Wirch

Senator Fred Risser

Senator Kathleen Vinehout

Representative Frederick Kessler

Representative Chris Taylor

Representative Terese Berceau

Representative Jonathan Brostoff

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Adam Plotkin