

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

July 16, 2013

- To: State Bar of Wisconsin President Board of Administrative Oversight Board of Bar Examiners Office of Lawyer Regulation
- Re: Rule Petition 13-03, <u>Petition to amend SCRs 10.03(3) and (7) relating to inactive</u> members requesting active status and readmission after resignation from State Bar

Dear Petitioners:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of your rule petition filed on May 22, 2013, requesting the court amend the supreme court rules relating to inactive members requesting active status and members seeking readmission after resignation from the State Bar (Rule Petition No. 13-03). The court briefly discussed this petition in open rules conference on June 11, 2013, and has requested that I seek additional information about the proposed amendments. Specifically, your response to the following issues or questions is sought at this time:

- What are the differences, including cost and administrative requirements, between electing inactive status then seeking reinstatement to active status as compared with submitting a voluntary resignation then seeking readmission?
- What does "actively practiced law" mean in proposed SCR 10.03(3)(b)? Are there limits on the type of legal practice that is deemed the active practice of law? Does this mean more than having a law license?
- What are the financial and administrative requirements associated with electing inactive status vs. emeritus status?
- What does it typically cost a lawyer to complete the CLE credits necessary to qualify for reinstatement or readmission after a period of five years? Ten years?
- How much will a lawyer typically owe in bar dues when seeking readmission or reactivation after five years? Ten years?
- What standards will the OLR use to evaluate a petitioner's eligibility for readmission or reinstatement?
- Whether the amendments will have retroactive application?

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

• Comments from the Legislative Reference Bureau were previously provided by email on June 3, 2013. Keith Sellen responded by e-mail on June 11, 2013, on behalf of the OLR. The joint petitioners are asked to please respond to the comments with any amendments they deem necessary. If there are no additional comments, please state that fact. Thank you.

Please file your response by August 30, 2013, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov.

The court has scheduled this rule petition for a public hearing on Thursday, September 12, 2013, at 9:30 a.m., in the Supreme Court Room in the State Capitol, Madison, Wisconsin. The court may take any action it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Circulate the rule petition for comment.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office are posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions regarding this request, please contact me at (608) 261-6641 or julie.rich@wicourts.gov.

Yours very truly, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Rule 13-03 Page 3

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Chief Circuit Court Judges Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Director of State Courts Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott League of Women Voters Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Arman S. Rouf Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jazmin Taylor Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Alice Rudebusch Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Pamela Radtke Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: David Callender Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andy Cook Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Adria D. Maddaleni Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Amy Franzen Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Francis X. Sullivan Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Amanda Rockmann, President Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney Steven Levine, Attorney

List of Additional Interested Parties – if any