

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

October 17, 2012

To: Interested Parties - See Attached List

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 12-10, In the Matter of the Amendment to Supreme Court Rule 22.24 Relating to Costs Assessments in the Lawyer Regulation System

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 12-10 filed by the Office of Lawyer Regulation. The petition proposes certain changes to SCR 22.24 relating to the timing of the filing of the OLR's supplemental statement of costs in attorney disciplinary appeals. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

At its open administrative conference on September 27, 2012, the court discussed this petition and voted unanimously to solicit public comments on the petition and then to meet at a future open administrative conference to further discuss the petition along with all comments. The court specifically requested that OLR referees, OLR retained counsel, and defense counsel in OLR actions be notified of this petition and be asked to submit comments. The court has tentatively scheduled an open administrative conference on November 30, 2012, to discuss this matter further. The court may take any action it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Circulate the rule petition for comment without a public hearing.
- (d) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (e) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (f) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by November 19, 2012, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov. See comment guidelines at the court's Web

site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner should file any response to the comments received on or before November 26, 2012.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice N. Patrick Crooks
Justice David T. Prosser, Jr.
Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Michael J. Gableman
Office of Lawyer Regulation

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Director of State Courts

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott

League of Women Voters

Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Kevin Klein State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Natasha Fahey-Flynn

U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Arman S. Rouf

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jazmin Taylor

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: David Callender

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andy Cook

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Adria D. Maddaleni

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Amy Franzen

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Francis X. Sullivan

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Amanda Rockmann, President

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

List of Additional Interested Parties

Attorney Christopher Kolb Attorney Daniel P. McAlvanah Attorney David V. Meany Attorney Dean R. Dietrich Attorney Jeffrey P. Sweetland Attorney Jeremy P. Levinson Attorney Lester A. Pines Attorney Marie A. Stanton Attorney Mark Hazelbaker Attorney Nathaniel Cade, Jr. Attorney Ralph M. Cagle Attorney Randal N. Arnold Attorney Richard J. Cayo Attorney Stephen P. Hurley Attorney Terry E. Johnson Attorney Stephen M. Meyer Attorney Matthew F. Anich Attorney Wayne A. Arnold Attorney Thomas J. Basting Attorney William F. Bedker Attorney Ronald Paul LeFever Attorney Gregory P. Seibold Attorney Gregg M. Herman Attorney Robert G. Krohn Attorney Kim Kluck Attorney Matthew J. Price Attorney Paul W. Schwarzenbart Attorney Denis R. Vogel Attorney Anne MacArthur Attorney Norman Anderson Attorney Linda Balisle

Attorney James C. Boll, Jr.

Attorney Kevin Lee Ferguson

Judge William Eich

Judge John B. Murphy Attorney Henry A. Field, Jr. Attorney David R. Friedman Attorney Lisa Clare Goldman Attorney Catherine M. Rottier Attorney John N. Schweitzer Attorney Cheryl Rosen Weston Attorney James G. Curtis, Jr. Attorney Thomas H. Taylor Attorney Allan E. Beatty Attorney Richard P. Mozinski Attorney Michael Ash Attorney Hannah C. Dugan Attorney Kathleen Callan Brady Attorney Richard M. Esenberg Judge John A. Fiorenza Attorney Curry First Attorney Jonathan V. Goodman Attorney Stanley Hack Attorney Richard C. Ninneman Attorney Christine Harris Taylor Attorney James J. Winiarski Attorney Timothy L. Vocke Judge Robert E. Kinney Judge James R. Erickson Attorney Michael F. Dubis Judge Dennis J. Flynn Attorney John R. Decker Attorney Russell L. Hanson Attorney Daniel L. Icenogle Attorney James W. Mohr Jr. Attorney Kim M. Peterson