

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

October 18, 2012

To: Interested Parties - See Attached List

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 12-07, <u>Petition to Amend SCR 70.03 and 70.12(1)(c)3. and</u>

create SCR 70.12(5) and (6), and 70.16, relating to the Supreme Court Finance

Committee

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 12-07 filed by Justice Patience Drake Roggensack. The petition proposes certain amendments of Supreme Court Rules (SCRs) 70.03 and 70.12(1)(c)3 and the creation of SCRs 70.12(5), 70.12(6), and 70.16 to codify the establishment of the supreme court finance committee. The supreme court finance committee provides guidance to the Wisconsin Supreme Court with respect to the Court's biennial budget, operating budgets, and annual operational plan for grants that the supreme court supervises.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

The court discussed this petition at its open administrative conference on September 19, 2012, and a majority of the court voted to solicit public comment on the petition and then discuss the petition and all comments in an upcoming open administrative conference. The court may take any action it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by December 3, 2012, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov. See comment guidelines at the court's Web

site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments received on or before December 10, 2012.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications that have been filed have been posted on the website and any further written comments will also be posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice N. Patrick Crooks
Justice David T. Prosser, Jr.
Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Michael J. Gableman

List of Interested Parties from Whom the Court Specifically Seeks Comment:

Finance Committee/Exploratory Judge Group

Chief Justice Abrahamson

Justice Patience Drake Roggensack

Justice Michael Gableman

Judge Richard Brown, Chief Judge, Court of Appeals

Judge William Dyke, Chief of the Committee of Chief Judges

Judge William Foust, Chief Judge, District 5

A. John Voelker, Director of State Courts

Committee of Chief Circuit Court Judges

Policy & Planning Advisory Committee

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Board of Bar Examiners

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott

League of Women Voters

Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Kevin Klein State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Natasha Fahey-Flynn

U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Arman S. Rouf

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jazmin Taylor

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: David Callender

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andy Cook

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Adria D. Maddaleni

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha

<u>List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters - continued</u>

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Amy Franzen

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Francis X. Sullivan

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Amanda Rockmann, President

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Executive Director