

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

October 12, 2011

To: Interested Parties – See Attached List

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 11-03, In the matter of repeal and recreation of SCR 70.38 - 70.39, relating to court security and facilities

Greetings,

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 11-03 to repeal and recreate SCR 70.38 - 70.39, relating to court security and facilities filed June 30, 2011, by A. John Voelker, Director of State Courts. The petition asks the court to repeal existing rules and create a new rule chapter governing circuit court security and facilities. The stated goal of this proposal is to promote communication among circuit courts, county officials, court planners, architects, and contractors concerning court facilities and security issues. The petition states that court safety and courthouse security in Wisconsin's courthouses is a top priority, and the chapter is intended to assist counties and courts in making sound decisions about court facilities that serve citizens of their Wisconsin communities.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

On September 15, 2011, the court concluded in open administrative conference that it would seek written comments for this petition. The court has tentatively scheduled this rule petition for an administrative conference on December 5, 2011, at 9:45 a.m., to discuss this matter directly with the petitioners. A public hearing may be scheduled if the responses from interested parties indicate this is warranted.

The court may take any action it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.

¹ Chief Justice Abrahamson and Justice Bradley dissented from this part of the court's decision because they would schedule a public hearing rather than scheduling another administrative conference to discuss whether to have a public hearing or other alternatives.

- (e) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (f) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed in writing by October 28, 2011, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov. See comment guidelines at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner shall file any response to comments received on or before November 4, 2011.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office are posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice N. Patrick Crooks
Justice David T. Prosser, Jr.
Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Michael J. Gableman
A. John Voelker, Director of State Courts

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott

League of Women Voters

Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: James Brennan State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Adam Korbitz State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Margaret Porco U.W. Law School, Attention: Kenneth B. Davis, Jr.

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Andrew Clarkowski

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Yer L. Vang

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andrew C. Cook

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Commr. Leo Grill Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: David A. Westrup, Treasurer

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Vicki Gilbertson

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable JoAnn Eiring

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Kay Stelzner

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Quinn Williams/Nancy Wettersten

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Leland Wigg-Ninham, President

List of Additional Interested Parties – if any