

Shirley S. Abrahamson Chief Justice Ann Walsh Bradley N. Patrick Crooks David T. Prosser, Jr. Patience Drake Roggensack Annette Kingsland Ziegler Michael J. Gableman Justices

Supreme Court of Misconsin

16 EAST STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 1688 Madison, Wisconsin 53701-1688

> Telephone (608) 266-1880 Facsimile (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

A. John Voelker Director of State Courts

A. John Voelker Acting Clerk of Supreme Court

July 26, 2011

To: Interested Parties – See Attached List

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 11-02

Greetings,

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 11-02 filed by the Board of Bar Examiners. The petition seeks to amend SCRs 40.01 and 40.14 to permit electronic submission of bar applications, including an electronic signature mechanism. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

The court will not conduct a public hearing on this matter but will discuss this petition at an open administrative conference this fall.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by Wednesday, August 31, 2011, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to <u>carrie.janto@wicourts.gov</u> or <u>clerk@wicourts.gov</u>. See comment guidelines at the court's Web site at <u>http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm</u>.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at <u>http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm</u> to follow this rule petition. Court communications about the petition and comments from interested parties will be posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: <u>susan.gray@wicourts.gov</u>).

Very truly yours,

/s/

Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Board of Bar Examiners

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Chief Circuit Court Judges Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Director of State Courts Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott League of Women Voters Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: James Brennan State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Adam Korbitz State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Margaret Porco U.W. Law School, Attention: Kenneth B. Davis, Jr. Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Andrew Clarkowski Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Yer L. Vang Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andrew C. Cook Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Commr. Leo Grill Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: David A. Westrup, Treasurer Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Vicki Gilbertson Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable JoAnn Eiring Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Kay Stelzner Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Quinn Williams/Nancy Wettersten Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Leland Wigg-Ninham, President

List of Additional Interested Parties – if any

CCAP – Attention: Jean Bousquet